El Paso, TX - UTEP Sun Bowl

Authored by Admin on March 7, 2015


March 7-8, 2015 - UTEP Sun Bowl - El Paso, TX

Racing Winnners:

Sunday 2:00pm: Bounty Hunter

Saturday 7:30pm: Metal Mulisha

Freestyle Winners:

Sunday 2:00pm: Max-D

Saturday 7:30pm: Max D


Trucks:Monster Jam® Trucks: Grave Digger® driven by Carl Van Horn, Dragon driven by Scott Liddycoat, El Diablo℠ driven by JP, Scooby-Doo™ driven by Nicole Johnson, Max-D℠ driven by Tom Meents, El Toro Loco® driven by Frank Krmel, Jr., Doom's Day driven by TBA, Metal Mulisha driven by Todd LeDuc, Obsession driven by TBA, Obsessed driven by TBA, Time Fly's driven by TBA, Detour driven by TBA, Bounty Hunter® driven by Jimmy Creten, Scarlet Bandit™ driven by Dawn Creten, Felon driven by Mark Schroeder, Double Trouble driven by Tyler Groth, Trouble Maker driven by Travis Groth, McGruff driven by Rod Wood and more!


Sunday 2:00pm

It is truly amazing the fans that turn out to the Sun Bowl for not one but two Monster Jam Stadium events. A sell out last night to a near sell out today made for some exciting action as the Monster Jam super stars let it all hang out. There wasn't a truck that didn't give it there all as each race win and each point in freestyle meant everything. Jimmy Creten finally took a racing trophy at a stadium home with him as it was good fuel to make his way to the World Finals and Max D. won his sixth stadium freestyle of the year making the statement come and get me.

Metal Mulisha was today's fastest qualifier backing up last nights championship win. He would take out Max D. in round one only to loose to the eventual champion Bounty Hunter in the Semi finals. In the bottom bracket it would be BJ Johnson with Mohawk Warrior taking the sixth fastest qualifying spot to defeat Grave Digger in round one and El Toro Loco in the semi finals only to out in one of the turns to loose to Bounty Hunter. Here are the racing results.

Fast Qualifier Metal Mulisha.

Round one racing: Metal Mulisha def. Max D., Bounty Hunter def. Dragon, Mohawk Warrior def. Grave Digger and El Toro Loco defeats Grave Digger.

Semi Finals: Bounty Hunter defeats Metal Mulisha and Mohawk Warrior defeats El Toro Loco.

Finals: Bounty Hunter Defeats Mohawk Warrior.

The #MyMonsterJam Freestyle saw a young and talented Eric Swanson have a freestyle of his life by taking the early lead with a score of 31. The amazing thing about this is that he was the fourth truck to go out of eighteen and sat in the hot seat thru the next eleven trucks until World Champion Metal Mulisha took the lead with a 40. Now you would think that he would be your winner with that kind of score and the awesome freestyle he had but it wouldn't happen. Tom Meents did it again with a freestyle that could possibly get save of the year and freestyle of the year awards. It was good enough to score a high 42 points for the day. Other great performances came from Scooby Doo scoring another 29 for fifth place along with bounty Hunter taking fourth with a score of 30.

Freestyle scores.
Max D. 39 + 3 = 42
Metal Mulisha 37 + 3 = 40
Obsessed 30 + 1 = 31
Bounty Hunter 27 + 3 = 30
Scooby Doo 26 + 3 = 29
Dooms Day 25 + 3 = 28
Mohawk Warrior 24 + 3 = 27
Scarlet Bandit 19 + 2 = 21
Monster Mutt Rottweiler 20 + 1 = 21
Trouble Maker 17 + 2 = 19
Time Fly's 18 + 1 = 19
El Toro Loco 19
Detour 16
Felon 14 + 1 = 15
McGruff 13
Double Trouble 12

By Greg Whitacre and Jeff Krapf


Saturday 7:30pm

Shoulder to shoulder standing room only under the lights at the famous Sun Bowl as 19 Monster Jam Trucks were ready for battle. An amazing night of action from the entire field of Monster Jam Trucks to a back flip attempt by El Toro Loco to the shoot out between El Diablo vs. El Toro Loco where JP Ruggiero and Lupe Soza were epic in wowing the fans. Not to forget about the photo finish racing where Metal Mulisha defeated Max D in the finals but Max D. coming back and out scoring the entire field for the Freestyle trophy.

Metal Mulisha needed this victory to take it into the World finals which is weeks away. Todd Leduc was so excited after his win over Max D. that he could hardly get a word out in his interview. Not only did he beat Max D but he also defeated Detour in round one and Bounty Hunter in the semi finals but he was also fastest qualifier of the night. Meents drove Max D to the finals with wins over Monster Mutt Rottweiler in round one and Dooms Day in the semi finals. One to note was the effort by new Monster Jam Driver Jeff Souza who qualified 8th. fastest out of the nineteen that competed tonight a great effort.

Monster Jam freestyle was full of great highlights as Dragon was the first in the Hot Seat with a score of 21 and sat there until Trouble Maker and Travis Groth wowed the fans with some big air and great sky wheelies. Groth took the lead with a score of 26 as it would last until Scooby Doo hit the floor. Nicole Johnson was on fire tonight with a ragged on the edge of your seat performance which put her in the lead with a score of 29. Bounty Hunter was next and was on a roll until he wheelie off of a steep stack and stuck it on the wheelie bar not able to bring it back down. It was stuck there for a picture perfect photo opp but leaving time on the clock and a score of 16. It was then time for Metal Mulisha to Double down and he would take it to the limit and take the lead with a 32 only to have Max D wow the crowd and score a high 35 for the win.

Fast Qualifier Metal Mulisha.

Racing Round One: Metal Mulisha def. Detour, Bounty Hunter def. Grave Digger, Max D def. Monster Mutt Rottweiler and Dooms Day defeated Mohawk Warrior.

Semi Finals: Metal Mulisha defeated Bounty Hunter and Max D. defeated Dooms Day.

Finals: Metal Mulisha defeated Max D.

Freestyle Scores.
Max D. 33 + 2 = 35
Metal Mulisha 29 + 3 = 32
Grave Digger 29 + 2 = 31
Scooby Doo 27 + 2 = 29
Trouble Maker 24 + 2 = 26
Mohawk Warrior 23 + 1 = 24
El Toro Loco 20 + 2 = 22
Dragon 19 + 2 = 21
McGruff 19 + 2 = 21
Dooms Day 20 + 1 = 21
Time Fly's 18 + 3 = 21
Scarlet Bandit 19 + 1 = 20
Felon 17 + 1 = 18
Monster Mutt Rottweiler 17 + 1 = 18
Double Trouble 15 + 1 = 16
Bounty Hunter 16
Detour 13 + 1 = 14
Obsession 13
Obsessed DNF

By Greg Whitacre and Jeff Krapf