Brussels, Belgium - Koning Boudewijnstadion / Stade Roi Baudouin

Authored by Admin on June 28, 2015


June 28, 2015 - Koning Boudewijnstadion / Stade Roi Baudouin - Brussels, Belgium

Racing Winner:Grave Digger (event winner)

Freestyle Winner:Grave Digger

Trucks: Monster Jam® Trucks: Max-D℠ driven by Morgan Kane, Grave Digger® driven by Colton Eichelberger, Blue Thunder® driven by Dalton Millican, Monster Energy driven by Coty Saucier, Scooby-Doo™ driven by Bailey Shea, NEA℠ driven by Aaron Basl, Monster Mutt® Rottweiler driven by Daron Basl, El Toro Loco® driven by Brianna Mahon, El Diablo℠ driven by JP and Mohawk Warrior℠ driven by George Balhan!

The anticipation was high as the track was being built inside King Baudouin Stadium in Brussels, Belgium. It had been seven years since Adam Anderson won racing and Chad Tingler took freestyle before the appreciative crowd in 2008. It was a new crop of drivers who brought a new style of action and the Belgian fans loved it.
The crowd came pouring through the gates to meet the drivers at a pit party outside the stadium. When the doors opened, those fans and more settled into their seats to see what was in store for the Sunday matinee presentation.
A field of 10 Monster Jam trucks came thundering into the stadium to the cheers of the fans. Wheelie competition opened the action with each driver getting four shots at impressing the judges and the crowd. Aaron Basl in NEA started strong with a 25, but brother Daron moved into the lead with a 30. Scooby Doo completed the run with a flip and had to be towed off. The 30 stood as Brianna Mahon, driving El Toro Loco for the first time, stepped up to reel off a 32 and grab the lead. That mark stood through all challengers, giving El Toro Loco the first point of the day.
Monster Jam qualifying was next on the schedule, but the trucks damaged in wheelie competition would not be attempt to make an attempt. Monster Energy lost power in the run and did not qualify and NEA was unable to start after the safety check at the starting line. Only six trucks took time and it was Max-D with an 18.750 that earned the half point as fast qualifier.
With six trucks qualified, a repaired Monster Energy and Scooby Doo rounded out the field. Fast qualifier Max-D dispatched Scooby Doo, missing an ear from the body, back to the dog house. Grave Digger continued a win streak by sidelining Monster Mutt Rottweiler. Blue Thunder shot past El Toro Loco, but pulled into the pits with a sway bar issue. Mohawk Warrior defeated Monster Energy, but the winning truck went right to the pits with an issue.
The semi-final match-up was a rematch of the final race from Madrid and Barcelona, which saw Max-D squaring off against Grave Digger. In each of the previous two matchups, Grave Digger prevailed and that was the case in Brussels…with a twist. As Grave Digger crossed the line, the truck rolled, which meant it would not be able to go to the finals. The other semi-final was supposed to be Mohawk Warrior and Blue Thunder, but neither could answer the call, setting up a Monster Energy versus El Toro Loco semi. It was a win for Barcelona event winner Coty Saucier and Monster Energy.
When it came time for the finals, Max-D and Monster Energy were called to the line. After the introductions, Max-D would not fire and had to be towed from the track. Rather than a bye run, the rules required the only remaining available truck from the semi-finals, which was El Toro Loco. Brianna Mahon was sent to the line to face Monster Energy. It was close through the first two jumps, but Monster Energy pulled away late for the win.
The athletes hustled to their ATV machines to give the Brussels fans their first look at this portion of the competition. The two heat races were won by Mohawk Warrior and Blue Thunder, giving each athlete ½ point. Dalton Millican in Blue Thunder grabbed the event lead by adding the main event in ATV and giving him a point total of 1 ½.
The next competition was Speedster action and again the athletes would face off in two heats. This time, only the top four drivers in the five vehicle field would advance to the main. Grave Digger claimed the first heat with El Diablo dominating the second. Those two drivers were at the head of the pack through the main event as Grave Digger was able to hold off El Diablo at the finish. That win moved Grave Digger into a tie for the point lead with Blue Thunder.
The final competition carried two points and stood to keep everyone in the hunt. Scooby Doo started strong, but ended the run the run about halfway through to set the mark at 24. El Toro Loco logged all 7s and a bonus of 3 to grab the lead at 31. Monster Mutt Rottweiler ended up a few seconds short of bonus time and NEA turtled the truck with 40 seconds left in his run. El Diablo’s strong regulation was supplemented by a great bonus that earned four points and put him in the lead. Mohawk Warrior included a backflip in the run, which ended a few seconds early but gave Mohawk Warrior the lead. Blue Thunder came out with big air in regulation and then added a little bit of three-wheeling in bonus time to take the lead at 35. Max-D had some work to do to get to the top and a solid regulation set the stage. A backflip in the bonus time was stuck and Max-D drove away with the lead of 37. Monster Energy came close with a 35, leaving Grave Digger as the only obstacle between Max-D and the championship. Looking to repeat the Grave Digger freestyle win of 2008, Colton Eichelberger hit the floor with a high energy run that saw body parts flying throughout the run. The tally of 37 forced a tiebreaker which went to Grave Digger, giving him freestyle and the overall event championship.
Fans also enjoyed eight freestyle motocross riders who performed on both sides of the stadium with dual ramps set up for their enjoyment.

El Toro Loco – 32
Monster Mutt Rottweiler – 30
Max-D – 29
Monster Energy – 28
Grave Digger – 27
El Diablo – 26
NEA – 25
Scooby Doo – 21
Blue Thunder – 21
Mohawk Warrior – 19

Fast Qualifier – Max-D, 18.75
Round One – Max-D def. Scooby Doo, Grave Digger def Monster Mutt Rottweiler, Blue Thunder def El Toro Loco, Mohawk Warrior def Monster Energy (Blue Thunder and Mohawk Warrior could not advance)
Semi-finals – Grave Digger def Max-D, Monster Energy def El Toro Loco (Grave Digger could not advance)
Championship – Monster Energy def El Toro Loco (Max-D presented, but could not refire and was replaced by El Toro Loco)

Heat 1 – Mohawk Warrior
Heat 2 – Blue Thunder
Main – Blue Thunder

Heat 1 – Grave Digger
Heat 2 – El Diablo
Main – Grave Digger

Grave Digger – 37
Max-D – 37
Blue Thunder – 35
Monster Energy – 35
Mohawk Warrior – 33
El Diablo – 32
El Toro Loco – 31
Monster Mutt Rottweiler – 27
NEA – 26
Scooby Doo – 24

Event Points
Grave Digger – 3 ½
Blue Thunder – 1 ½
El Toro Loco – 1
Monster Energy – 1
Max-D – ½
Mohawk Warrior – ½
El Diablo – ½

By Larry Jewett