Tom Meents Tops Qualifying at Monster Jam World Finals XXI

Authored by Monster Jam on May 20, 2022


Tom Meents (Max-D) was the fastest qualifier Saturday night at Camping World Stadium in Orlando ahead of Saturday’s Racing event at Monster Jam World Finals XXI.

While the brand-new over-under track started off slick, Coty Saucier (Dragon) set an impressive time in the very first run with a 31.427 while many others made mistakes.

Meents was the first driver to top it with a 30.618, a time that would not be beaten. Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger) was the only other driver to join him in the sub-31-second category in Round 1.

Round 2 started with Saucier setting a 30.753, moving him back up to second on the leaderboard. However, a slick track meant that only eight drivers improved on their times in Round 2, and Meents retained the top spot.

Bari Musawwir (Zombie) edged out Tristan England (EarthShaker) by 0.006 seconds for eighth place and, as a result, will get a bye run in the first round.

One of the drivers with his work cut out for him Saturday is Ryan Anderson (Son-uva Digger) who ran a 32.0 in Round 1 and could not back it up in Round 2. He qualified 13th.

Kayla Blood was the slowest qualifier after running off course in her first run, and then only managing a 33-second run in Round 2. Seventeen of the 24 drivers set their best time in the blue lane.

Qualifying Results:

  1. Tom Meents (Max-D)
  2. Coty Saucier (Dragon)
  3. Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger)
  4. Camden Murphy (Bakugan Dragonoid)
  5. Todd LeDuc (Blue Thunder)
  6. Mark List (El Toro Loco)
  7. Adam Anderson (Grave Digger)
  8. Bari Musawwir (Zombie)
  9. Tristan England (EarthShaker)
  10. Brandon Vinson (Grave Digger)
  11. Bryce Kenny (Great Clips Mohawk Warrior)
  12. Cole Venard (Black Pearl)
  13. Ryan Anderson (Son-uva Digger)
  14. Charlie Pauken (Monster Mutt)
  15. John Gordon (Bad Company)
  16. Weston Anderson (Grave Digger)
  17. Jamey Garner (Over Bored)
  18. Cory Rummell (Megalodon)
  19. Brianna Mahon (Whiplash)
  20. Nick Pagliarulo (Kraken)
  21. Jim Koehler (Avenger)
  22. Krysten Anderson (Grave Digger)
  23. Cynthia Gauthier (Lucas Stabilizer)
  24. Kayla Blood (Soldier Fortune)