Monster Jam by the Numbers

Authored by Admin on December 28, 2017


Monster Jam has closed the book on the 2017 season, but it was one that provided memories by the millions for fans around the world.

In 2017, there were over 350 Monster Jam shows in 134 different venues. They were held on five continents. Some places, like Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Brazil and China, were seeing Monster Jam live for the first time.

Throughout the year, 135 different drivers climbed behind the wheel to compete and entertain fans.

Ryan Anderson in Son-uva Digger® led all stadium competitors in racing wins, compiling a 39-9 record. Five of those wins came in his successful quest to become a Monster Jam World Champion. Anderson also led all competitors with 8 racing championships.

Stadium Racing 2017 (20 or more wins)

Ryan Anderson (Son-uva Digger)                              39-9

Linsey Weenk (Lucas Oil Crusader™)                        36-9

Todd LeDuc (Monster Energy®/Mutant®)                  30-15

Adam Anderson (Grave Digger®)                              28-13

Neil Elliott (Max-D™)                                                  26-18

Coty Saucier (Monster Energy/Mutant)                    24-12

Lee O’Donnell (VP Mad Scientist™)                           21-12

Jon Zimmer (Dragon™/Grave Digger)                       20-8


Second year athlete Tyler Menninga led the arena racing win list en route to his Triple Threat East championship. Menninga won 82.2 percent of his match-ups.


Arena Racing (40 or more wins)

Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger)                                 74-16

Pablo Huffaker (Grave Digger)                                  72-23

Camden Murphy (Pirate’s Curse®)                             67-19

Jared Eichelberger (Max-D)                                      65-38

Randy Brown (Grave Digger)                                    56-18

Gary Porter (Carolina Crusher®)                                56-19

Cole Venard (Grave Digger)                                      52-17

Steven Sims (Mutant)                                                51-21

Cynthia Gauthier (Monster Mutt® Dalmatian)           45-40

Zane Rettew (Stinger)                                               42-60

Armando Castro (El Toro Loco®)                               40-32


Todd LeDuc (Monster Energy/Mutant) led the way with 7 Freestyle championships, breaking the tie with Ryan Anderson in his last event of the season. Lee O’Donnell (VP Mad Scientist) recorded the biggest win with the 2017 Monster Jam Freestyle World Championship, including the first-ever front flip in competition. Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger) added another category win in his 2017 championship season by capturing the most arena Freestyle championships.


Freestyle Championships (Stadium)

7 – Todd LeDuc (Monster Energy/Mutant)

6 – Ryan Anderson (Son-uva Digger), Charlie Pauken (Grave Digger)

4 – Adam Anderson (Grave Digger), Neil Elliott (Max-D), Coty Saucier (Monster Energy/Mutant)

3 – Morgan Kane (Grave Digger)

2 – Colton Eichelberger (Max-D), Lee O’Donnell (VP Mad Scientist), Linsey Weenk (Lucas Oil Crusader), Jon Zimmer (Dragon/Grave Digger)

1 – Jim Koehler (Avenger), Becky McDonough (El Toro Loco), Tom Meents (Max-D), Bari Musawwir (Zombie™), Colt Stephens (driving Max-D), Mike Vaters II (Overkill Evolution)


Freestyle Championships (Arena)

Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger)                  41

Pablo Huffaker (Grave Digger)                   33

Randy Brown (Grave Digger)                      25

Cole Venard (Grave Digger)                        16

Cam McQueen (Northern Nightmare®)       15


Here are the top five in some of the other arena competition categories in 2017



Pablo Huffaker (Grave Digger)                    38

Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger)                   32

Randy Brown (Grave Digger)                      21

Jared Eichelberger (Max-D)                        21

Cam McQueen (Northern Nightmare)        16



Pablo Huffaker (Grave Digger)                   37

Randy Brown (Grave Digger)                     30

Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger)                  15

Gary Porter (Carolina Crusher)                  15

Jared Eichelberger (Max-D)                       13



Justin Sipes (Megalodon™)                          25

Colton Eichelberger (Max-D)                       21

Cole Venard (Grave Digger)                         14

Blake Granger (Max-D)                                 10

Ami Houde (Zombie)                                      9

Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger)                       9


Event Championships

Tyler Menninga (Grave Digger)                    35

Pablo Huffaker (Grave Digger)                     33

Randy Brown (Grave Digger)                       23

Colton Eichelberger (Max-D)                        22

Justin Sipes (Megalodon)                             21


The 2018 season opens on Jan. 5 with events in Charlotte and Salt Lake City.