Anderson Claims MJWF Racing Title

Authored by Admin on March 25, 2017


Tonight, in front of an energetic crowd in Sam Boyd Stadium, Son-uva Digger®, driven by Ryan Anderson, raced down Thunder Alley through the 32-truck bracket to become the 2017 Monster Jam World Finals® Racing Champion. This is Anderson's first-ever Monster Jam World Finals championship.

The racing competition kept the fans on the edge of their seats the entire night with numerous photo finishes. In multiple racing match-ups tonight, it was track versus truck.

Red-light infractions knocked many fan favorites out of the racing bracket throughout the night, including last night's Double DownTM Fastest Qualifier, Coty Saucier and Monster Energy. Saucier red-lighted against Tyler Menninga and Grave Digger® in the quarterfinals.

Menninga, a Monster Jam World Finals main field rookie and 2017 Monster Jam Triple ThreatTM East Series Champion, had the biggest upset of the night, knocking the reigning World Racing Champion, Morgan Kane, out of the competition in the second round of racing.

The final round paired Menninga and Son-uva Digger driver Ryan Anderson against each other. No two Team Grave Digger drivers have ever gone head-to-head in the final round of racing at Monster Jam World Finals. Anderson edged out Menninga to the finish line by only .038 seconds, securing the win.

"Las Vegas, about time, huh?" said Anderson. "You see that old man on that stage right here? This is his 35th anniversary. That was for you, Dad. I love you! Each and every single one of you guys come out here and have been coming out here supporting that crazy old man and that black and green wrecking machine. You have made my dad and you have made me, but my favorite thing right now is that every single one of you is on your feet for Son-uva Digger. I did not come all the way here from North Carolina, to win racing; I came to run like a mad man tomorrow night in Freestyle."

Click here for complete racing results


Friday, March 24 Monster Jam Awards Recipients

Technician of the Year: Buddy Young, Stinger

Rising Star: Matt Pagliarulo, Jester

Rookie of the Year: Camden Murphy, Pirate's Curse

Arena Wheelie of the Year: Tyler Menninga, Grave Digger

Stadium Wheelie of the Year: Kelvin Ramer, Time Fly's

Donut of the Year: Tom Meents, Max-D

Arena Freestyle of the Year: Alex Blackwell, Megalodon

Stadium Freestyle of the Year: Todd LeDuc, Monster Energy

Crash Madness: Dave Radzierez, Xtreme Diesel

Save of the Year: Kelvin Ramer, Time Fly's

Wow Factor: Chuck Werner, El Toro Loco

Extreme Air: Jim Koehler, Avenger


2018 Monster Jam World Finals XVIIII (March 22-24) tickets will go on-sale August 1st. Go here for ticket renewal and on-sale information and dates