Baltimore, MD - M&T Bank Stadium

Path of Destruction
M&T Bank Stadium
Baltimore, MD
June 8, 2013
MonterJam logo
Racing Winner
Freestyle Winner

Saturday 7:00PM: MAX-D
Trucks: Monster Jam® Trucks Grave Digger® driven by Dennis Anderson, Max-D℠ driven by Tom Meents, Advance Auto Parts Grinder℠ driven by Lupe Soza, Monster Energy driven by Damon Bradshaw, Lucas Oil Crusader® driven by Linsey Weenk, Son-uva Digger® driven by Ryan Anderson, Grave Digger The Legend® driven by Adam Anderson, Monster Mutt® Dalmatian driven by Candice Jolly, El Toro Loco® driven by Marc McDonald, Madusa®, Iron Man™ driven by Lee O'Donnell, Mohawk Warrior® driven by George Balhan, Team Hot Wheels® Firestorm® driven by Scott Buetow, Zombie℠ driven by Sean Duhon, El Diablo℠ driven by JP Ruggiero, Scooby-Doo™ driven by Nicole Johnson and a special Advance Auto Parts Monster Jam truck created by Bari Musawwir for the people of Baltimore!!


Saturday 7:00PM

The Advance Auto Parts Monster Jam ® Path of Destruction returned to Baltimore’s M & T Bank Stadium with a Monster Jam World Finals caliber field in competition and the results mirrored the most recent world championship competition as reigning World Racing Champion Adam Anderson powered Grave Digger the Legend ® to the win in the Championship Round Race over his younger brother Ryan in Son-uva Digger ®, then the current World Freestyle Champion Tom Meents in Max-D used an amazing save and a new bonus scoring system in freestyle to take that title in Baltimore as well Saturday night.

The roaring crowd in Baltimore was treated to an intriguing racing bracket full of drama and incredible photo finishes. The drama began in qualifying where Son-uva Digger was experiencing similar electrical problems to the ones that plagued him at this year’s Monster Jam World Finals in Las Vegas last March and was unable to post a time. It was big brother who was best in time trials, The Legend’s clocking of 19.381 seconds earned the number one seed.

With Crew Chief Brandon Vincent and the Son-uva Digger team thrashing feverishly the truck was back for round one, putting the Anderson brothers face to face at the starting line as the top seed (Adam) was matched up with the #16 seed (Ryan). In a race that had the fans in awe the pair flew across the finish line together, the electronic timing system showing The Legend a winner over Son-uva Digger by .02 of a second. Son-uva Digger would get another chance though when first round winner El Diablo and Grave Digger both battled mechanical issues, so the fastest first round loser, Son-uva Digger, replaced El Diablo in the second round thanks to Ryan having the fastest time of any first round loser.

With Adam on the top of the ladder and Ryan back in the bottom of the bracket the Anderson brothers rolled thorough with win after win and the Anderson sibling rematch would come in the UTI Championship race. In another exciting battled it was the current racing champ on top again as The Legend defeated Son-uva Digger in the UTI Championship Round Race.

An incredible freestyle competition included a special competitor, as 2012 Young Guns Shootout Champion Bari Musawwir designed and created a special Monster Jam truck “for the people of Baltimore” and thrilled the proud Maryland crowd with a rocking freestyle performance. Among the highlights was a sensational freestyle by Team Hot Wheels Firestorm that included driver Scott Buetow nailing a gorgeous back flip, and Buetow would spend a majority of the competition in the hot seat as the leader. Linsey Weenk also successfully back flipped the Lucas Oil Crusader and posted a score among the leaders.

It would be the final three in the line-up though who would throw down some of the most spectacular runs to battle for the trophy and the change in the bonus scoring, where for the first time ever the bonus judge could award up to 10 points rather that the standard maximum of 5 points was in play as Advance Auto Parts Grinder and Lupe Soza, Dennis Anderson in Grave Digger, and Meents in Max-D all filled the regulation and bonus clocks. All three had the crowd on its feet with amazing saves in bonus time with the Max-D save being called by some the save of the year. Max-D earned 5 bonus points while Grave Digger actually got 6 from the bonus time judge, but Max-D’s advantage in regulation held up and at the end of the night was holding the freestyle trophy, with both current World Champions back on top for the start of the Advance Auto Parts of Destruction which will continue Saturday June 15th at Met Life Stadium in East Rutherford, NJ, the stadium home of the New York Giants and the New York Jets.


Fast qualifier – Grave Digger the Legend 19.381

1st round: Grave Digger the Legend def. Son-uva Digger; Mohawk Warrior def. Advance Auto Parts Grinder; Lucas Oil Crusader def. Scooby-Doo; Iron Man def Zombie; Monster Mutt Dalmatian def. Madusa; Monster Energy def. Max-D; El Toro Loco def. Team Hot Wheels Firestorm; El Diablo bye run due to Grave Digger mechanical problems (Son-uva Digger advanced as fastest 1st round loser due to mechanical problems for El Diablo)

2nd round: Grave Digger the Legend def. Mohawk Warrior; Iron Man def Lucas Oil Crusader; Monster Mutt Dalmatian def. El Toro Loco; Son-uva Digger def. Monster Energy

Semifinals: Grave Digger the Legend def. Iron Man; Son-uva Digger def. Monster Mutt Dalmatian



MAX-D 32 (27 + 5 bonus points)
Grave Digger 30 (24 + 6)
Monster Energy 28 (22 + 6)
Advance Auto Parts Grinder 27 (22 + 5)
Team Hot Wheels Firestorm 26 (22 + 4)
“For the People of Baltimore” 24 (19 + 5)
Lucas Oil Crusader 23
Madusa 22 (19 + 3)
Son-uva Digger 21
Iron Man 20
El Toro Loco 20
Grave Digger the Legend 20
Monster Mutt Dalmatian 19
Zombie 17
Mohawk Warrior 15
El Diablo 5

By Scott Douglass